Before getting a chance of obtaining a license, aspiring plumbers must start as an apprentice, upgrade to a journeyman, then finish at a master level.
In case you do not want to become a journeyman or master, there is a chance of becoming a plumbing tradesman, meaning you can perform maintenance on existing plumbing.
To be allowed to perform specialty services or jobs valued over $10,000, you will need to obtain a Louisiana general contracting license.
It is important to understand the requirements needed for this type of license, as it is required in addition to your plumbing license.
There are three levels of plumbers in the state of Louisiana – Apprentice, Journeyman and Master Plumber.
- Louisiana Plumbing License Reciprocity
- Louisiana Master Plumbing License Requirements
- Master Plumber Exam
- Louisiana Plumbing Journeyman License Requirements
- Plumbing Journeyman Exam
- Louisiana Plumbing Tradesman License Requirements
- Plumbing Tradesman Exam
- Louisiana Plumbing Apprenticeship Requirements
- Plumbing Trade Schools in Louisiana
- Insurance for Plumbers in Louisiana
- Plumber Schools by City
Louisiana Plumbing License Reciprocity
Contractors in Louisiana would be glad to know that Louisiana has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
- North Carolina
- South Carolina
Louisiana Master Plumbing License Requirements
To qualify for a master plumber license in Louisiana, you must have a current Louisiana journeyman plumber license.
Master Plumber Exam
This exam is held every year during February, May, August, and November at the SPBL Administrative office.
The first step is that journeymen complete an application to take the exam, and pay a $110 exam fee.
Books that will be needed for the exam are the following:
- Title 51 Public Health Sanitary Code (Part XIII)
- 2000 Louisiana Plumbing Code
- And NASCLA Louisiana Master Plumbers Guide to Business Law & Project Management 1st Edition
If you manage to pass the exam, you will need to complete an Initial License form and return it with a $190 active fee and a $40 inactive fee.
Louisiana Plumbing Journeyman License Requirements
You will need to complete an apprenticeship program so as to be allowed to obtain a journeyman license.
The only exception is a plumber who has 8,000 hours or five years of experience under a licensed plumbing company.
So as to participate in the waiver process you will need proof of W2’s or official payroll documentation.
Plumbing Journeyman Exam
A journeyman examination is given by the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana’s Administrative office.
These exams are held every year during January, April, July, and October and you will need to pay $135.
There are 80 questions on this exam and you will have three hours for a written exam, and a hands-on portion.
After a maximum of two weeks, you will receive the results through the mail.
If you have passed, you will need to fill out an Initial License form with a $50 fee within 90 days.
It is good to know that when you apply for the examination, there is an option of obtaining a temporary work permit which allows you to work as a journeyman plumber until the exam date.
This form is available in the journeyman application and costs $75 to obtain.
Louisiana Plumbing Tradesman License Requirements
A tradesman is not a frequent level in other states and in Louisiana, this is a person allowed to repair existing plumbing systems in one- and two-family houses.
They are not allowed to do the work of a journeyman plumber, even with supervision.
To become a tradesman plumber, you are required to have a current apprenticeship as well as completed two years or 4,000 hours of manual labor under supervision.
Plumbing Tradesman Exam
The tradesman exam consists of 80 multiple-choice questions.
You will be given three hours for the written part of the exam, and then 30 minutes for the practical part.
All parts of the exam are open book and can be done only after you pay a $135 fee.
Books allowed during the exam include:
- International Plumbing Code 2012 edition
- Louisiana State Revised Statutes RS 37:1252 – 1378, RS 40:4 – 1730.53 (MARCH 2017)
- Louisiana Title 46, Professional and Occupational Standards, Part LV. Plumbers
- Title 17, Construction, Part I. Uniform Construction Code (October 2016)
- Atmos Energy Website, Cross Bore Brochure
- Louisiana 811
- National Electrical Code, 2011 Edition
If you pass the exam, you need to complete the Initial License form and return it with a $50 fee.
Louisiana Plumbing Apprenticeship Requirements
The Plumbing, Heating, Cooling Contractors of Louisiana (PHCCL) provides an apprenticeship program that is approved by the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training.
Qualifications for the Plumbing Apprenticeship programs in Louisiana include the following:
- Applicants must be at least 16 years of age.
- Applicants must be physically capable of performing essential functions.
- Applicants must have a high school diploma or GED.
- Applicants must be employed by an approved plumbing contracting company.
Louisiana’s plumbing license will expire after one year and you will get a notification by mail to renew the license.
The renewal fee is $100, and it must be completed before December 31st.
Plumbing Trade Schools in Louisiana
- Acadian Plumbers Association (APA)
Tuition: $700/semester for APA members; $900/semester for non-members
Location: St. Lafayette, LA
Contact Information: Email — email@example.com; Phone — 337-230-6891
- Baton Rouge Plumbers and Steamfitters Local #198
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Contact Information: Tim Curry — (225) 355-9938 — Fax (225)355-9110 — firstname.lastname@example.org
- New Orleans Plumbers and Steamfitters Local #60
Location: New Orleans, LA
Contact Information: D.J. Berger — (504) 885-8033 — email@example.com
- Lake Charles Plumbers and Steamfitters Local #106
Location: Lake Charles, LA
Contact Information: Richard Polk — (337) 436-2444 — firstname.lastname@example.org
- Shreveport Plumbers and Steamfitters Local #141
Location: Shreveport, LA
Contact Information: Roy Shane — (318) 683-1664 — Rshane141@comcast.net
- Monroe Plumbers and Steamfitters Local #659
Location: Monroe, LA
Contact Information: John Thomas — (318) 322-4520 — Lu6559bm@uanet.org
- Plumbers and Steamfitters U.A. Local #247
Location: Alexandria, LA
Contact Information: Kenneth Gorum — (318) 442-9923 — Lu247bm@yahoo.com
Insurance for Plumbers in Louisiana
Master plumbers in Louisiana are required to have general liability insurance and vehicle liability insurance if they possess service trucks.
Furthermore, if he/she has workers, then workers’ compensation insurance is obligatory as well.
You will not be able to obtain your license until you provide proof of insurance.
In Louisiana, the average hourly pay for a plumber is $22.
However, if you have more experience, you can expect to earn up to $30 an hour.
Plumbers are in high demand across the state and the average Plumber salary in Louisiana is $54,972.
Annual Salary Range:
Average Salary of Plumbers in Louisiana
City Name Salary New Orleans $56,965 Baton Rouge $53,353 Shreveport $52,757 Lafayette $52,721 Lake Charles $51,998 Kenner $56,934 Bossier City $52,757 Monroe $52,481 Alexandria $50,840 New Iberia $52,415
Region Employed Avg. Annual Salary Avg. Hourly Pay Top 10% Annual Salary Bottom 10% Annual Salary Alexandria, LA 260 $51,170 $24.6 $65,850 $31,350 Baton Rouge, LA 3,130 $65,500 $31.49 $81,680 $48,730 Hammond, LA 150 $52,600 $25.29 $69,270 $33,170 Houma-Thibodaux, LA 680 $46,540 $22.37 $61,820 $24,680 Lafayette, LA 650 $52,980 $25.47 $68,410 $36,110 Lake Charles, LA 950 $65,320 $31.4 $77,290 $48,600 Monroe, LA 310 $51,080 $24.56 $63,770 $31,820 New Orleans-Metairie, LA 1,850 $57,680 $27.73 $74,860 $38,340 Shreveport-Bossier City, LA 600 $53,530 $25.74 $69,510 $36,150
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
Plumber Schools by City
This page is also available in Spanish.