Plumber Licensing Requirements

You have probably heard that plumbers are among the most closely regulated professions in the United States, being that almost all states have plumber licensing requirements for both journeyman and master plumbers.

It is worth mentioning that these requirements and exams vary from state to state and you should get familiar with those related to the state you want to work in.

After you have finished your study and practical training, you will need to comply with the laws in your state so that you can start and grow your business and this can be achieved by eaning your plumber license.

License is just as important as your plumber’s insurance.

To make your research easier, we decided to gather all the licensing requirements in each of the 50 states.

The data related to each state are put in alphabetical order to make it easier for you to find what you are looking for.

Search Plumber Programs

Get information on Plumber programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Ad

Alabama

Plumbers are required to hold a state license to work in Alabama and to find out more about this you will need to contact the State of Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board.

  • Journeyman Plumber –two years of experience as an apprentice or completed an apprentice training program approved by the board are required as well as the passed exam.
  • Master Plumber – one year of work experience as a journeyman plumber and a passed exam is required.

Alaska

To be allowed to work as a plumber in Alaska, a state license from the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development is necessary

  • Journeyman Plumber – Those who want to become journeyman plumbers must show proof of 8,000 hours of work experience in the installation of commercial or residential plumbing. You can substitute up to 1,000 hours of related education for work experience.
  • Plumber Gas License – You must show proof of 4,000 hours of work experience with at least 2,000 hours being in the installation of fuel gas piping. 500 hours of education can be substituted for work experience.
  • Plumber Utility License – You must show proof of 1,000 hours of installation of water, sewer, or storm lines and there is a possibility to substitute up to 125 hours of education for experience.

To get each license, you will be required to pass an exam.

Arizona

Aspiring plumbers must get a state contractor’s license to work in Arizona.

You can either get commercial and residential licenses, or a dual license, and all of them are awarded by the Arizona Registrar of Contractors.

If you have a dual license, you will be allowed to do both commercial and residential plumbing work.

  • Special Residential Contracting License, Plumbing R-37 – Allows the installation and repair of water and gas piping systems, fire protection systems, and sewage treatment systems.
  • Specialty Commercial Contracting License, Plumbing C-37 – Allows the installation, alteration, and repair of all plumbing within property lines.

For both licenses, you are required to have four years of experience and you must pass a business exam and a trade exam.

You must show proof of a bond.

Arkansas

This is another state where plumbers require a state license before they can work.

The license is issued by the Arkansas Department of Health, Plumbing, and Natural Gas Division.

If you want to apply for a master plumber license, you must show proof of five years of experience.

In case you are a journeyman plumber, you must have held a journeyman license for at least a year.

Last, but not least, you must pass an exam.

California

To work as a plumber in California, you must have a state contractor’s license.

The Plumbing Contractor license is a C-36 classification which is awarded by the Department of Consumer Affairs, Contractors State License Board.

To get it, you must show proof of four years of experience at a journeyman level or as a foreman, supervising employee, contractor, or owner-builder.

You must have a $15,000 bond,  pass a Law and Business exam, as well as a trade exam.

What can be required is a Hazardous Substance Removal Certification to install and/or remove underground storage tanks or other hazardous substance removal work, but you can get it only if you pass an exam.

Colorado

Aspiring plumbers in Colorado should have in mind that they are obliged to hold a state license before they begin work.

There are some classifications of licenses awarded by the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, State Plumbing Board.

However, all of them require that you pass an exam to qualify.

  • Residential Plumber – You must show proof of two years (3,400 hours) of experience.
  • Journeyman Plumber – You must show proof of up to four years (6,800 hours) of experience.
  • Master Plumber – You must show proof of five years (60 months or 9,780 hours) of experience.

Connecticut

If you belong to prospective plumbers, you should know that you must be licensed by the state to work in Connecticut.

The Plumbing and Pipefitting licenses are awarded by the Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection.

  • Journeyperson  – a completion of a registered apprenticeship program or the equivalent amount of training and experience, as well as a trade exam, are obligatory
  • Contractor –  proof of two years of experience as a licensed journeyperson, a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam, is required.

Delaware

Whether you will need a master plumber license to work in Delaware will depend on the work you plan to do.

If your plans are related to design, install, construct, replace, service, repair, alter or modify pipes, fixtures, or other similar apparatus for water or gas, you will need to get a license that is awarded by the Delaware Division of Professional Regulation.

If you have a journeyman certificate, you must show proof of completion of an apprenticeship program, plus at least two years of experience supervised by a licensed master plumber to be able to get it.

Furthermore, you will need to pass an exam.

On the other hand, if you do not hold a journeyman certificate, you will have to show proof of at least seven years of work experience supervised by a licensed master plumber.

You can then take the Apprenticeship By-Pass exam.

Florida

As in the majority of other states in the USA, to be allowed to work as a certified plumber in Florida, you must hold a license from the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation.

Also, to be able to get it, you must show proof of four years of experience or a combination of experience and related education.

Additionally, you must have public liability, property damage, and workers’ compensation insurance and pass an exam.

Georgia

A plumber in Georgia can only be a person who has a state license from the Georgia Construction Industry Licensing Board, Division of Master and Journeyman Plumbers.

To get it, you must meet the following plumber licensing requirements:

  • Journeyman Plumber –proof of three years of experience and an exam.
  • Master Plumber – proof of five years of experience, with at least two years of experience as a journeyman plumber, plumbing contractor, plumbing foreman, plumbing superintendent or military plumber, and an exam.

Hawaii

Another state that requires that plumbers must hold a state license to work in Hawaii.

The licenses are awarded by the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing, Board of Electricians and Plumbers.

There are two types of license and for each of them, you must pass an exam.

But first, you need to qualify for the exam, by meeting the following plumber licensing requirements:

  • Journey Worker Plumber –proof of five years and at least 10,000 hours of experience in plumbing work, in compliance with the Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC).
  • Master Plumber –proof of two years of experience working as a licensed journey worker plumber.

Idaho

Plumbers in Idaho must hold a state license issued by the Idaho Division of Building Safety.

You can choose from multiple plumber licenses, but you can get it only if you meet each of their requirements.

  • Plumbing Apprentice – You don’t need a license, but must be registered.
  • Plumbing Journeyman – You must complete a four-year course approved by the Idaho Plumbing Board and pass a trade exam. To be eligible for the journeyman plumber’s certificate of competency, you must have four years of experience as an apprentice under the supervision of a qualified journeyman plumber.
  • Plumbing Contractor –proof of two and a half years of experience as a licensed journeyman plumber and an exam.
  • Specialty Plumbing Apprentice – You must be employed by a licensed plumbing specialty contractor of the same specialty category and work under his/her supervision. You must have completed or be enrolled in an approved training course.
  • Specialty Plumbing Journeyman – You must show proof of 18 months of apprentice experience and must have completed 72 hours of approved training. Additionally, you must pass a test.
  • Specialty Plumbing Contractor –proof of two and a half years of experience as a specialty plumbing journeyman in the specialty category for which you are applying and an exam.

Illinois

If you want to work as a plumber in Illinois, you must hold a state license awarded by the Illinois Department of Public Health.

  • Apprentice Plumbers –proof of sponsorship by an Illinois licensed plumber or by an approved apprenticeship program. Furthermore, you must apply for and pass, the plumbers licensing exam within a maximum apprenticeship period of six years.
  • Plumbing Contractors –proof of a holding a plumber apprentice license for at least four years. Additionally, you must have completed at least two years of high school, as well as completing an approved course. Last but not least, you must pass an exam.

Indiana

In Indiana, plumbers are required to hold a state license issued by the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Plumbing Commission.

Which requirements you will need to meet depends on the license you are applying for and they are the following:

  • Apprentice Plumber –you must be registered, there is no need for a license
  • Journeyman Plumber – You must apply through an approved apprenticeship school and have completed four years of training and have passed a practical exam. Another option is to apply through a plumbing trade, and you must have a current out-of-state plumbing license and must show proof of four years of experience.
  • Plumbing Contractor – You must apply through an approved apprenticeship school and have completed four years of training and have passed a practical exam. In case you apply through a plumbing trade, you must have a current out-of-state plumbing license and must show proof of four years of experience.

Iowa

Just like in the majority of US states, plumbers working in Iowa must have a state license that is awarded by the Iowa Department of Public Health, Plumbing, and Mechanical Systems Board.

  • Apprentice – To be an apprentice, you must be enrolled in an approved apprenticeship program and you will have to work under the supervision of a journeyperson or master plumber. You must be at least 18 years old and have graduated high school.
  • Journeyperson Plumber – He/she must also work under the supervision of a licensed master plumber. He/she can get the license only if he/she has completed at least four years of experience as an apprentice from a registered apprenticeship program and pass the journeyperson exam, or he/she must have a master level license from another jurisdiction.
  • Master Plumber – First, you must have held a journeyperson license with two years of experience or hold a master license in another jurisdiction. Additionally, you must pass the master licensing exam.
  • Plumbing Contractor –proof of a surety bond and liability insurance is obligatory, and you must also be registered as a contractor with the Iowa Division of Labor.

Kansas

Kansas is one of the very few states where plumbers do not need a state license to work.

You need to have in mind that local requirements may exist so make sure to check these with your local government before you begin work.

Kentucky

Taking into consideration that you want to be a plumber in Kentucky, you must hold a state license to do plumbing work.

Various licenses are awarded by the Department of Housing, Buildings, and Construction, Plumbing Division and you can choose one of these:

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have completed two years of experience and pass the trade exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must have a current journeyman license and also pass an exam.

Louisiana

Another state, where plumbers must hold a state license to be allowed to work as plumbers, is Louisiana.

Future plumbers can choose among multiple license classifications awarded by the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana.

  • Journeyman Plumber – To get this license, you must have completed an approved apprenticeship program, pass a trade exam, and complete continuing education through an approved course to be able to renew your license each year.
  • Master Plumber – These professionals must have a current Louisiana Journeyman Plumbing License, pass a trade exam, and complete continuing education through an approved course to be able to renew their license each year.

Additionally, it is worth noting that if your plumbing work is worth more than $10,000, you will also need a commercial plumbing license issued by the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors.

To get this license, you are required to pass a trade, a business and law exam.

Maine

Becoming a plumber in Maine si possible only if you hold a state license.

To be able to work, each plumber is required to meet the plumber licensing requirements for the specific license they are applying for and all of them are awarded by the Plumbers’ Examining Board.

  • Journeyman Plumber – To get this one, you must show a minimum of at least two years and 4,000 hours of experience in plumbing installations as a licensed trainee plumber supervised by a licensed master plumber. Another option is that you have at least 2,000 hours of work experience within the last four years as a licensed journeyman-in-training working under the supervision of a licensed master plumber. Additionally, you must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – To become Master Plumber, you must have at least one year with 2,000 hours of experience in plumbing installations as a licensed journeyman plumber or at least four years with 8,000 hours of experience in plumbing installations as a licensed trainee plumber supervised by a licensed master plumber.

Maryland

Another state, that requires that plumbers hold a state license to be able to work, is Maryland.

There are various license categories and you need to meet the specific plumber licensing requirements for a category you are applying.

  • Apprentice Plumber – An applicant must be at least 16 years of age.
  • Journey Plumber – An applicant must have held an apprentice license for at least four years and must show proof of 7,500 hours of training under the supervision of a licensed master plumber. Furthermore, he/she must also have completed 32 hours of training in backflow prevention device testing and pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – An applicant must have held a journey license for at least two years, show proof of 3,750 hours of training under the supervision of a licensed master plumber, and pass an exam.

Massachusetts

You must hold a state license to work as a plumber in Massachusetts, that is awarded by the Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters.

The requirements are the following:

  • Apprentice Plumber – You must be at least 16 years old.
  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have worked for at least 8,500 hours as a licensed apprentice under the supervision of a licensed master plumber or under the supervision of a licensed journeyman plumber who is employed by a master plumber. Additionally, you must have completed at least 550 hours of plumbing theory and pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must have held a journeyman plumbing license for at least one year, plus you must have completed at least 100 hours of advanced plumbing theory in an accredited course and pass an exam.

Michigan

Plumbers in Michigan must hold a state license to work.

They can choose from multiple license categories awarded by the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA), depending on their desires and interests.

  • Journey Plumber License – To get this one, you must be at least 18 years of age, have at least 6,000 hours of experience in not less than three years as a registered plumbing apprentice, and pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber License – Also, you must be at least 18 years old, have at least 4,000 hours of experience as a journey plumber, in not less than two years, and pass an exam.

Minnesota

It is mandatory that you, as a plumber, hold a state license to be able to work in Minnesota.

The requirements are specific to the license you are applying for, but all of them are awarded by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, Construction Codes and Licensing Division.

  • Plumber Journeyworker –What is necessary to provide is proof of at least 7,000 hours of experience with 2,000 hours in a drain, waste and vent installation, 1,000 hours in fixture installation, and 2,000 hours in water distribution installation. You must pass an exam.
  • Plumber Master – You must provide proof of 1,750 hours of experience, a journey worker license, plus 12 months experience and you must pass an exam.

Mississippi

In case you perform residential plumbing work that is worth more than $10,000 or commercial work that is worth more than $50,000, to be allowed to work as a plumber, you must hold a state contractors license, issued by the MS State Board of Contractors, in the state of Mississippi.

You must pass an exam.

Otherwise, for work that is worth less than these amounts, you are suggested to check local licensing requirements.

Missouri

Missouri is a state where no state plumbing licensing requirements are set, but if you choose to work as a plumber in Missouri, you should get familiar with local requirements before you begin work.

Montana

Plumbers in Montana must hold a state license to work and they are awarded by the Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Board of Plumbers.

  • Journeyman – You must possess proof of having completed a registered apprenticeship program and at least five years of experience. Plus, you must pass an exam.
  • Master – You must have four years of experience as a licensed journeyman with three of those years working with a licensed master or in a supervisory capacity. Also, nine years of experience must be verified by notarized statements and you must pass an exam.

Nebraska

A good thing to know is that you do not need a state license to work as a plumber in Nebraska.

But, if you want to be a contractor, you are required to register with the Nebraska Department of Labor, so you are advised to check local licensing requirements before you begin work.

Nevada

In Nevada, plumbers are required to hold a state license to work and two different licenses are awarded by the Nevada Board of Plumbing Examiners.

  • Journeyman Plumber – to become one, you must have completed four years in a state-registered, accredited apprenticeship program or have 8,000 hours of experience in plumbing. Also, you must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – A mater plumber must have held a Nevada journeyman plumber license for at least one year or 2,000 hours and pass an exam.

In case you want to become a plumbing contractor in Nevada, you must hold a plumbing and heating contracting (classification C-1) license from the Nevada State Contractors Board.

To get this, you must show proof of four years of experience in the past ten years and you must pass an exam.

New Hampshire

To be allowed to work, a plumber must have a state license to work in New Hampshire.

  • Apprentice –At least 16 years of age and he/she has to be registered in an approved apprenticeship program.
  • Journeyman –At least 18 years old person who has completed an apprenticeship program and passed the journeyman exam.
  • Master plumber – A person must have held a journeyman plumber license for at least six months and pass an exam.

New Jersey

To become a master plumber in New Jersey, you must be licensed by the Division of Consumer Affairs, State Board of Examiners of Master Plumbers.

However, not everyone can become a master plumber, as you must be at least 21 years old, have completed a four-year, approved apprenticeship program and have one year of experience as a journeyman plumber to be eligible.

Another option is to have a bachelor’s degree in mechanical, plumbing, or sanitary engineering from an accredited college and have one year of experience as a journeyman plumber.

To get the license, you must pass an exam with a trade section, a practical section, and a business and law section.

Journeyman plumbers must be registered.

New Mexico

Plumbers who want to work in New Mexico must hold a state license that is awarded by the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department.

To get a Journeyman Plumber license, you will need to show proof of two years (4,000 hours) of experience and pass an exam.

New York

There are no plumber state licensing requirements in New York.

You need to have in mind that some cities and counties have strict local requirements so you must check these before you begin work.

North Carolina

To be allowed to work, plumbers must hold a state license in North Carolina that is awarded by the State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors.

Getting a license is possible only if you show proof of two full years of experience, with a possibility to substitute up to half of the experience with academic or technical training, pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam.

North Dakota

North Dakota law requires that you must hold a state license to work as a plumber there.

In North Dakota, the licenses are awarded by the North Dakota State Plumbing Board.

  • To become an Apprentice Plumber, you must be at least 18 years old and apply within 30 days of beginning work.
  • Journeyman Plumber license applicants must have four years and at least 7,600 hours of experience working as an apprentice plumber under a licensed master plumber and pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – An applicant must be at least 21 years of age, have at least two years (3,400 hours) of experience working as a journeyman plumber, and pass an exam.

Ohio

Whether you will need a license or not in Ohio, depends on the work you plan to do.

If you work as an individual plumber, you do not need a state license to work in Ohio.

However, in case you want to work as a commercial plumbing contractor, you will need to have a license issued by the state from the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board.

To get one, you must have at least five years of experience as a plumber, three years of business experience in the construction industry, pass an exam, and have liability insurance.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma is a state where all plumbers must have a state license to work.

The licenses are awarded by the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board and you can choose from multiple options and these are the requirements for each of them:

  • Plumbing Apprentice –No license required, but you must be registered and work under the supervision of a journeyman or contractor.
  • Plumbing Journeyman – An applicant must be at least 18 years of age, must have three years of experience employed by a plumbing contractor. Another option is to substitute two years of experience with an approved plumbing educational program of at least 1,000 hours. An approved plumbing educational program of at least 500 hours can substitute for one year of experience. You must pass an exam.
  • Plumbing Contractor – You must be at least 18 years old, have three years of experience employed by a plumbing contractor. You can also choose an approved plumbing educational program of at least 1,000 hours which can substitute for two years of experience. An approved plumbing educational program of at least 500 hours can substitute for one year of experience. You must pass an exam.

Oregon

To work as a plumber, you must have a state license to work in Oregon.

The license is awarded by the Department of Consumer and Business Services, Building Codes Division.

Not everyone can get the license, as there are requirements to be met to be eligible.

For a journeyman plumber license, you must have completed a four-year registered apprenticeship program or have completed 576 hours of classroom training, and have proof of 3,850 hours of commercial and 3,850 hours of residential experience as a journeyman or apprentice plumber.

Additionally, you must pass an exam.

Pennsylvania

Another state, where plumbers do not need a license to work, is Pennsylvania.

Still, there is some local plumber licensing requirements that you must meet before you begin work.

Rhode Island

A plumber in Rhode Island must hold a state license issued by the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety, Professional Regulations Unit.

  • Plumber Journeyman – An applicant must have at least four years of experience and 576 hours of approved education and pass an exam.
  • Plumber Master – An applicant must have at least five years of experience and must hold a journeyperson license which must have been valid for at least a year. He/she must pass an exam, as well.

South Carolina

To be allowed to work in South Carolina, plumbers must be licensed by the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation, Residential Builders Commission.

An aspiring plumbing specialty contractor must show proof of one year of experience and you must pass an exam.

South Dakota

Work as a plumber in South Dakota is possible only if you have a state license issued by the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation, Plumbing Commission.

To get one, you must fulfill the following plumber licensing requirements:

  • Plumber Apprentice – Those people who possess two years (3,800 hours) of experience working under a plumbing contractor can work on single-family buildings without supervision in their third and fourth year if they have passed the exam.
  • Journeyman Plumber – These applicants must have four years of experience as an apprentice, with at least 1,900 hours of experience per year. They are allowed to substitute two years of military plumbing for one year of experience, up to a total of five years. They must pass an exam.
  • Plumbing Contractor – To become one, you must have at least six years of experience in the plumbing trade, with at least two of the years working as a plumbing contractor or plumber. Additionally, you must have spent at least 1,900 hours per year working in the plumbing trade and pass an exam.

Tennessee

It is worth mentioning that in the state of Tennessee, plumbing licenses are awarded both at the state and local level.

Which requirements you will need to meet depends on the type of license you are applying for.

The state licenses are issued by the TN Department of Commerce and Insurance, Board for Licensing Contractors.

  • Limited Licensed Plumber –If the total cost of the work you plan to do is less than $25,000 and there are no specific local requirements in the city or county in which you are working. You must pass an exam.
  • Plumbing Contractor (CMC or CMC-A classification) – This kind of license is required for work on projects worth $25,000 and more. Applicants must show proof of three years of experience and must pass an exam.

Texas

This is another state that requires that plumbers are licensed by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners to work.

  • Journeyman Plumber – An applicant must have a high school diploma or equivalent, must be currently registered as a plumber’s apprentice or as a tradesman plumber limited in Texas, or as a journeyman or master plumber in another state. He/she must have at least 8,000 hours of experience. If he/she is not a licensed journeyman or master plumber in another state, he/she must complete a 48-hour approved training course. They must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – To get this license, you must have a high school diploma or equivalent, must currently be licensed as a journeyman plumber in Texas or another state, and have at least four years of experience. Another option is to be licensed as a journeyman plumber in Texas or another state and have held the license for at least one year, and have completed an approved training program. Or, be a master plumber in another state and have held a journeyman license for at least four years. Or be a master plumber in another state, have held a journeyman license for at least one year, and have completed an approved training program. You must pass an exam.

Utah

As a plumber, you must be licensed by the state to work in Utah by the Utah Department of Commerce, Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing.

The plumber licensing requirements are the following:

  • Journeyman Plumber – To qualify to sit for the exam, you must have completed at least 6,000 hours of the required 8,000 hours of training as a licensed apprentice, in not less than four years. Additionally, you must submit proof of the final 2,000 hours of training before you can receive your license. Or, you must have at least eight years (16,000 hours) of experience under the supervision of a licensed master or journeyman plumber.
  • Residential Journeyman Plumber – You must complete an approved apprenticeship program and have at least 6,000 hours of training as a licensed apprentice, in not less than three years. Another option is that you must have at least six years (12,000 hours) of experience under a licensed plumber and pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must show at least two years of experience as a licensed journeyman plumber, plus two years of supervisory experience as a journeyman plumber. You can substitute one year of supervisory experience, by completing an approved applied science or higher education degree. You must pass an exam.
  • Residential Master Plumber – You must have at least two years of experience as a licensed residential journeyman plumber and at least two years of supervisory experience as a residential journeyman plumber. You must pass an exam.

Vermont

Plumbers in Vermont must hold a state license to work and the license is awarded by the Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety.

However, to be eligible for each license, you must pass an exam and meet the following requirements.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must show a certificate of completion from the Vermont State Apprenticeship Council, or provide a certified statement of licensure or completion of an apprenticeship program from another state. Another option is to show 12,000 hours of instruction, training, and experience.
  • Master Plumber – You must have held a Vermont journeyman license for at least 12 months, or have been licensed at an equivalent level to a Vermont journeyman out of the state for at least one year. Also, you must show 14,000 hours of instruction, training, and experience.

Virginia

Virginia is a state where you must be licensed by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation to be allowed to work as a plumber.

To get any of the following licenses, you must pass an exam and meet the requirements:

  • Journeyman Plumber –proof of four years of experience, with another 240 hours of formal training. There is a possibility that more than four years of experience can substitute for training hours, with one year of experience is worth 80 hours of training, up to 200 hours. Also, there are chances that you must show proof of two years of experience, with an associated degree or certificate of completion of a two-year education program from an accredited college, or, proof of one year of experience, with a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college in a related engineering field. Or, you must have ten years of experience.
  • Master Plumber – You must have one year of experience as a licensed journeyman or ten years of experience.

Washington

A state license is obligatory to work as a plumber in Washington and the license is issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries.

Journeyman Plumber –  proof of 8,000 hours, and not less than four years working as a plumber trainee under the supervision of a certified plumber. At least 4,000 of the hours, and not less than two years, must be completed in a commercial or industrial installation.

Specialty Residential Plumber –  proof of 6,000 hours, and not less than six years, working as a residential plumber under the supervision of a certified plumber.

West Virginia

If you want to be a plumber in West Virginia, you must hold a state license to work that is awarded by the West Virginia Division of Labor.

The plumber licensing requirements for a Journeyman Plumber license are that you must have at least 8,000 hours of experience and pass an exam, while a Master Plumber license requires that you have at least 12,000 hours of experience and pass an exam.

Wisconsin

In Wisconsin, as in the majority of states, plumbers must be licensed to work in the state and the following licenses are awarded by the Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Professional Credentialing Processing.

Journeyman Plumber – Eligible applicants are those who have completed a recognized apprenticeship program and passed an exam. Those applying from out of state must have five years of experience under a journeyman plumber license.

Master Plumber – Applicants must have 1,000 hours of experience as licensed Wisconsin journeyman plumbers per year for at least three years. Or, they must have graduated from an accredited engineering university or college with an approved engineering curriculum related to engineering. They must pass an exam.

Wyoming

The last one on our list and yet, another state where plumbers do not need a state license to work, is Wyoming.

Make sure you get familiar with local plumber licensing requirements in the municipality in which you plan to work.

Find a Program