General contractors in the state of Arkansas, including plumbers, must possess a plumbing license.
So as to be able to get it, a prospective plumber must put in an application with the state with proof that they have the appropriate requirements, as well as pass an exam.
The state requires that the licenses are renewed every year.
- Arkansas Plumbing License Reciprocity
- Arkansas Master Plumber License Requirements
- Plumbing Master Exam
- Arkansas Plumbing Journeyman License Requirements
- Plumbing Journeyman Exam
- Plumbing Apprenticeship Requirements
- Plumbing Trade Schools in Arkansas
- License Costs in Arkansas
Arkansas Plumbing License Reciprocity
Once you get a license, you might wonder whether you can make use of it in other states as well.
When it comes to the state of Arkansas, it does not offer reciprocal plumbing license agreements on a state-by-state basis.
Actually, it is good to know that plumbers from other states seeking a reciprocal license in the state of Arkansas can apply on an individual basis with the State Committee of Plumbing Examiners.
Arkansas Master Plumber License Requirements
Each state has its specific license requirements that each applicant has to meet
The Arkansas state government defines a master plumber as a person who is skilled in the planning, superintending and the practical installation of plumbing and who is familiar with the laws, rules, and regulations governing the same.
You will need to meet the following requirements, so as to become a master plumber in the state of Arkansas:
- 5 years of in-field experience
- A journeyman license held for at least 1 year
- A master plumber license application to the state (including a $125 application fee)
- Passage of the state examination
Plumbing Master Exam
Plumbing Master Exam can be taken only after you pay the $125 exam fee which has to be included in the application.
The exam consists of 100 questions, which have to be done within a 3-hour time limit.
So as to pass it, you will need to reach a score of at least 70%.
Interested applicants may find examination dates on the Arkansas Department of Health website or contact the Plumbing Examiners Committee at 501-661-2642.
Plumbing contractors on projects over $20,000 must also take and pass a business and law exam, consisting of 50 questions and they will have 2 hours to complete it.
So as to be considered licensed, they will need to achieve a 70% score.
Now, if you want to prepare well for this exam, you are highly suggested to read the plumbing code book and know it well.
Even though you will have an open book test, it will not be any easier if you did not spend time understanding how the codebook is broken down and what subjects are covered within it.
Arkansas Plumbing Journeyman License Requirements
Another license that can be achieved is a Journeyman plumber license.
Arkansas defines a journeyman plumber as a person who is engaged in the practical installation of plumbing and this is not the same as a master plumber.
The following requirements are necessary to become a journeyman plumber in the state of Arkansas:
- 4 years of in-field experience
- Completion of an approved apprenticeship program
- A journeyman plumber application to the state (including a $75 application fee)
- Passage of the state examination
Plumbing Journeyman Exam
Journeyman Plumber Exam can be taken if you have paid the $75 exam fee and submitted the application.
The exam has 100 questions, and you are supposed to finish them in 3-hours.
Only those who reach a score of at least 70% will be considered qualified for licensure.
Examination dates can be found on the Arkansas Department of Health website or interested applicants can get in touch with the Plumbing Examiners Committee at 501-661-2642.
The Arkansas Plumbing License Exam covers many topics including Vents & Venting, Administrative Procedures, Fixtures, Drainage Systems and more.
The business and law sections can cover such subjects as:
- Business management
- Bidding Process
- Insurance and Bonding
- Accounting and Tax Matters
- Worker Safety
- Labor Laws
- Environmental Laws
Plumbing Apprenticeship Requirements
Prior to getting both of the above-mentioned licenses, each plumber in Arkansas has to be an apprentice.
The state of Arkansas defines an apprentice plumber as a person who is engaged in learning and assisting in the installation of plumbing and drainage and enrolled in a state-approved apprentice program.
This is the first step that needs to be taken when your future career as a plumber is in question.
To become registered as an apprentice plumber with the state of Arkansas, a prospective plumber must put in an apprenticing application and be accepted into a state-approved apprenticeship program.
Plumbing Trade Schools in Arkansas
Future plumbers can enroll in any of the following trade schools and expect to get both classroom knowledge and on the spot experience during their studies:
- Northwest Arkansas Community College
Location: 1 College Dr, Bentonville, AR 72712
Contact Info: (479) 636-9222
Tuition: $4,633 (In-state tuition)
- Phillips Community College
Location: 1000 Campus Rd, Helena, AR 72342
Contact Info: (870) 338-6474
Tuition: $3,110 (In-state tuition)
- Pulaski Technical College
Location: 3000 W Scenic Dr, North Little Rock, AR 72118
Contact Info: (501) 812-2200
Tuition: $5,011 (In-state tuition)
- Ultimate Technical Academy
Location: 1611, 6108 Getty Dr, North Little Rock, AR 72117
Contact Info: (501) 835-8200
Tuition: $1,199.00 per course
License Costs in Arkansas
Plumbers in the state of Arkansas are legally obligated to hold a state-approved license.
You can apply for a journeyman or master license, by contacting the Arkansas Department of Health.
It is good to have in mind that your application will need to be processed prior to the exam and the processing time for license applications are on average about one month.
These are the possible costs for various license types in Arkansas:
- The fee for a Master plumbing license is $200.00 per year.
- The master plumbing exam costs $125.
- The fee for a Journeyman plumbing license is $75.00 per year.
- The journeyman exam costs $75.
- The fee for an Apprentice plumbing license is $25.00 per year.
Wages typically start from $26,540 and go up to $61,780.
Starting level plumber earnings begin at $12,76per hour while Top-level plumber earnings begin at $29,70per hour or $60,543 per year.
The average plumber salary in Arkansas is $52921 but it may vary among the cities which can be seen in the table below.
Annual Salary Range:
Average Salary of Plumbers in Arkansas
City Name Salary Little Rock $53,332 Fort Smith $49,899 North Little Rock $53,332 Fayetteville $51,718 Jonesboro $52,774 Pine Bluff $51,357 Springdale $51,718 Conway $52,815 Rogers $51,408 Hot Springs $52,815
Region Employed Avg. Annual Salary Avg. Hourly Pay Top 10% Annual Salary Bottom 10% Annual Salary Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers, AR-MO 730 $48,550 $23.34 $64,180 $31,080 Fort Smith, AR-OK 240 $45,120 $21.69 $61,550 $30,670 Hot Springs, AR 80 $41,300 $19.86 $58,010 $29,350 Jonesboro, AR 90 $44,100 $21.2 $53,040 $32,070 Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, AR 830 $46,670 $22.44 $60,340 $30,790 Pine Bluff, AR 40 $44,030 $21.17 $59,200 $29,710
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
This page is also available in Spanish.